“I’m different. I can’t base what I’m gonna be off of what everybody isn’t.” – Jay Z

Image

Never allow ones state of mind to cause you to lose faith in what you want and what you believe.  The world will tell you that you can’t before it tells you that you can.  The world will define who it thinks you are before taking the time to objectively get to know you.  The world will set you on a path of negativity brewed by pessimism before saying, “I believe in you.”

It’s not the world we have to prove ourselves to it is our own inner being.  Once you know who you are it doesn’t necessarily mean that the world will know you too especially, if they don’t know themselves.  There are people in the world that will give you more reason to doubt who you really are, which is where faith steps in.

If you have a vision in your heart don’t let others tell you it’s impossible.  What do they know?  They have been living life by their own limitations and they are now setting that standard for you.  Don’t accept the limitations that others project onto your life.  “I’m different.  I can’t base what I’m gonna be off of what everybody isn’t.” – Jay Z

On August 28, 1968 Martin Luther King Jr. said, “I have a dream.”  Forty-five years later we have Barack Obama as the first African American president in the United States of America to be in the oval office for not his FIRST but SECOND term!  Michael Jordan didn’t make his high school basketball team because they said he was too short, but he worked hard and still made the NBA winning numerous championships.  Albert Einstein had dyslexia, he did not speak until age 4, and his teachers told him he would not amount to anything but he won the Nobel Prize in Physics.  What of these influential people had they not pushed aside the no and reached for their vision?

I have a vision that I don’t have to stick to the mainstream idea of a career regardless of what others tell me.  If they are happy with their 9-5 then I am happy for them.  I am not projecting my dreams on others and telling them that they should all be models, fashion designers, or artists.  I want others to be who and what THEY are comfortable being.  I don’t want to live someone else’s dream.  I have a vision that I never want to work in retail again unless my name is on the clothes there.  It is my dream and who or what is to say it is not feasible.  Of course there will be a process, a journey to achieving success.  Every artist has to eat and I am not an exception.  I don’t mind working a 9-5, I just want that job not to be just a job, but a small piece to the bigger pie.  I want anything and everything that I put my energy into to be a learning experience apart of the larger career plan that I have in mind.  There is nothing wrong with that.  It may not be the ideal avenue for my peers but it is what is in MY heart.

I encourage others to do the same.  Don’t let people tell you that your not good enough or that your not worth it. Maybe that is what they really think of themselves.  It is NOT what you have to believe about YOU.  Believe what is on the inside, believe what YOU KNOW to be TRUE.  Perception is reality and the beholder of that perception may not behold the truth.

© [bkennedyosiro] and [https://letmeseethelight.wordpress.com], [2013]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [bkennedyosiro] and [https://letmeseethelight.wordpress.com] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content

http://www.allisonhurwitzcounseling.com/4/post/2012/12/famous-people-who-have-overcome-challenges.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Einstein

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Jordan

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Have_a_Dream

Photo Credit: http://today.uconn.edu/blog/2013/01/martin-luther-king-day-events-highlight-importance-of-civil-rights-in-america/

Leave a Reply

