Clothes For A Cause

clothesforacause

Photo Credit: B.Kennedy-Osiro

Ever since I went to NYC to pursue modeling I have had this vision in my head that I can’t seem to get out of my heart.  I remember walking the streets of SoHo on my way to my first big go see and I was entranced by the constant surrounding of art.  There were vendors selling their paint filled canvases on the streets of Broadway along with jewelry designers who adorned their latest jewels on tables in such an ornate fashion that it could have been art in and of itself.  I had a meltdown that day walking from my go see.  It wasn’t because I did not get the job, I actually landed that showroom model job!  It was the first day of the rest of my life and it led to a meltdown in the middle of SoHo.

I was in my Sophomore year in Uni and I had been studying Political Science with ambitions to one day use my experience in foster care and become a Children’s Rights Lawyer.  However, in the middle of Soho just a Houston Street away from Canal hot tears burned the skin of my face as I realized what was in my heart was different from my major.  I decided to make a change.  I moved to NYC for the modeling job and changed my major to Art.  With a aspiration to one day be on the cover of Vogue in tow along with the desire to have my clothing line grace the runways of Milan I embarked on life for the first time in a way that made me feel complete.

Today I am in pursuit of that clothing line I once dreamed of.  My best friend and I are launching a children’s clothing line in tribute of our compassion for youth.  We will be giving a portion of every garment sold to a non-profit organization called Tamu Orphans where I serve as an Advisory Board Member.  I am young and living in an area where young artists thrive in pursuit of the arts.  There is a website that I came across called GoFundMe and I set up a page to raise funds to launch our children’s line.  I can’t contain how stoked I am about what my friend and I are doing.  It is like everything is unfolding.

Please take the time to visit our page and please pass it on.  We have big goals and a lot of talent but more importantly we have a cause and that is children.

http://www.gofundme.com/3z1wes

http://www.tamuorphansfund.org

Thank you,

© [bretagnebko] and [https://letmeseethelight.wordpress.com], [2013]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [bretagnebko] and [https://letmeseethelight.wordpress.com] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

